The new information resource: Tweetdeck

Google.com has always been my main resource when I want to learn information about a specific topic. Although, it helps a lot and most of the times I find exactly what I need, there are times where Google does not give me further information which I might need for a research paper that I am writing or collecting information for a project from my work. Fortunately I discovered Tweetdeck, a social media dashboard application for management of Twitter accounts. TweetDeck’s interface consists of a series of customizable columns, which can be set up to display your Twitter timeline, mentions, lists, trends, search results, hashtags, or all tweets by or to a single user. Using this application, I search and found more information about two topics that interested me a lot, cyber bullying and video editing. When I compared the search results of Google and Tweetdeck for these two topics, I realized a big difference in the amount of information I was getting. Tweetdeck found more sources, more users and accounts that were writing and posting information about these topics and that could from a photo and a Youtube video to a personal experience post. This application has given me the chance to find new sources for information.

Image

Leave a Reply

